Negative Space Landscapes

Experiments with negative space in landscape shots:

Goodbye Koh Mook / Nikon N8008 / Fujifilm C200

My first departure from the ol’ rule of thirds framing in landscapes came with the above picture when I noticed how much of the sky I could get in while still getting some land in the viewfinder. It looked like I was looking straight up but still planted by the sliver of land. I loved the sense of vastness it gave.

Tapee River, Surat Thani, Thailand / Nikon N8008 / Fujifilm C200

The river wasn’t very interesting, nor were the houses and shrubs behind it. But a little bit of both and a lot of sky made the scene simple and pleasant. This was shot on my (then) brand new Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 AF-D. This was also when I first realized that a wide-angle lens is not a necessity for landscape shots.


Koh Lampu Bridge / Nikon N8008 / Fujifilm C200

Nice, warm, and pleasant.

Stonehenge / Nikon N8008 / Kodak UltraMax 400

Stonehenge is usually shot closely cropped to bring out the arrangement of the stones. Those compositions convey the impressiveness of the structure itself. The vertical orientation and negative space on top of the stones on this shot better conveys the mystical nature of Stonehenge. I prefer this because it looks less like a tourist site and more like spiritual monument it was (supposedly?) intended to be.


Ishinomaki, Japan / Nikon F4 / Fujifilm Superia X-Tra 400

Amy and I went to volunteer in the tsunami stricken town of Ishinomaki in Miyagi prefecture, Japan. This part of town was barely touched.

About Jeeheon

Hello. I'm from Boston. I like photography, jamming, nature, and traveling.
This entry was posted in 35mm, film photography, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Negative Space Landscapes

  1. calvindexter says:

    You have some nice shots on this post. I love using negative space also.

Leave a Reply

