A Look at Portraits

Tibetan Boy in Darjeeling / Nikon N8008 / Kodak Max 400

These kids are from a refugee center for Tibetans in Darjeeling, India.

Street Baby / Nikon N8008 / Kodak Max 400

This is another standard portrait I shot somewhere in India.

Tigger’s Gazebo / Nikon N8008 / Ilford XP2 Super 400

This is my favorite portrait hands down. Tigger’s very photogenic in general but this time I captured him with the right expression at the right light and the right angle. There is a lot of texture to his face that adds to this portrait.

Robbie & Betsy / Nikon FM2 / Fujifilm 200

This is a photo of another photogenic friend of mine next to my old scooter.

Market Vendor / Nikon N8008 / Fujifilm 200

At the day-market in Surat Thani, Thailand.

Monks at the Night Market Temple / Nikon N8008 / Fujifilm 200

Thai monks sat in prayer.

Triple Exposure of Robbie / Nikon N8008 / Fujifilm 200

This triple exposure of Robbie was one the first multiple exposure shots I ever took. I discovered the function on my camera right then and fell in love with it.

Amy at Yoyogi Park / Nikon N8008 / Fujifilm Superia X-Tra 400

Amy Under a Magnolia / Nikon N8008 / Fujifilm Superia X-Tra 400

About Jeeheon

Hello. I'm from Boston. I like photography, jamming, nature, and traveling.
This entry was posted in 35mm, film photography, filmphotography, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Look at Portraits

  1. noirciplume says:

    I love the Tigger’s photograph as well. You’ve captured the lighting and composition beautifully.

  2. jusstdesserts says:

    I always wonder about taking pictures of strangers. Do I ask or take a sneaky shot? If I ask I may not get the shot of him/her in the moment. But if I don’t I can’t get a close enough shot without them noticing.

  3. Jeeheon says:

    it depends on the country for me. for example in india/nepal ill ask the men and theyll always oblige and give you a great deadpan look but for the women i have to sneak one. in thailand id ask the girls but not the guys because the guys are shyer. here in japan i sneak in candids with a telephoto because everyone is pretty shy and reserved when you first meet them.

  4. Beautiful portraits, and I think they are indeed all portraits! My belief is that a portrait is anything in which the focal point is a person. Environments absolutely add to portraits, and that is my favorite way of shooting them.

  5. Jeeheon says:

    glad we’re on the same page 😉

  6. You captured such a beautiful moment in that photo of Tigger.

  7. Jeeheon says:

    hey leslie! thanks

Leave a Reply

