First Few Rolls: Thailand & India

I shot my first roll of film in February, 2010 (I know, a few decades late). I was given a Nikon N8008, Quantaray 28-90mm f/3.3-4.5 Macro lens (Quantaray??), and a canister of Fujifilm Superia 200. I was excited to start shooting but a major obstacle presented itself: How the hell do you load film? Prior to this camera, I had been shooting with point and shoots. My friends and I passed the camera around, tapping at it like gorillas trying to figure it out. The good ol’ internet came to the rescue and I finally loaded the film. The next day I shot the roll, sent it away to be developed, eagerly picked it up when it was ready, looked through the prints, and was……. hugely disappointed! Most of the shots were overexposed, underexposed, and/or unfocused. For the rest, the compositions were terrible. I had practiced a lot of composition with my point and shoot, but for some reason all of that went out the window. I was left with these two portraits:

These two are of my friend Robbie. After seeing the depth of field I could get from this SLR, I could never get myself to pick up my point and shoot again.

I went to India the week after and shot four more rolls of junk. By the way, a place rich in photographic opportunities like India is not a good place to learn how to use an analog camera for the first time. Meh.

This is the Baha’i Temple in New Delhi; the only serene place in the whole city. Somehow the mid-afternoon sun didn’t flare this shot like it did with the previous five.

The curves of this building had nice composition potential. I wish I could remember what this was, but it had something to do with astronomy.

India is a culturally rich country, and Varanasi is culturally the richest city in it. Here’s a shot of the ghats on the Ganges river.

This bear reminded me of the gorilla, Ishmael (from the book, Ishmael).

Visited the Missionaries of Charity in Calcutta. Amazing.

Some political graffiti in Kolkata.

About Jeeheon

Hello. I'm from Boston. I like photography, jamming, nature, and traveling.
This entry was posted in 35mm, film photography, filmphotography, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Few Rolls: Thailand & India

  1. Nishant says:

    Hello Jeeheon,

    The fourth picture shows a part of Jantar-Mantar in New Delhi. It is a set of astronomy observatory built around 1750. The primary purpose of the observatory was to compile astronomical tables, and to predict the times and movements of the sun, moon and planets. Some of these purposes nowadays would be classified as astrology. (Wikipedia info) 🙂

  2. Jeeheon says:

    Ah that’s right! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

